Hi! My name is Ashleigh, and to get started, I’m going to share with you a little about myself and about how my weight and body image has changed over the years. I got married in March of 2007 when I was 21 years old. My weight at my wedding was about 128 pounds, a perfectly healthy weight for my 5″3′ frame. My husband was working as a chef at an Italian restaurant, and I was working as a hairstylist. I would have dinner when I got home around five, and would watch TV or read until my husband came home around 11 pm. Since he worked through dinner, he would usually come home with a pizza or some pasta. Since this was the only time that we saw each other, I would sit down with him and have a second dinner.  About four months into our marriage, my husband stopped working at the restaurant, but unfortunately, my poor eating habits didn’t change, and I gained about 12 pounds that first year.

Fast forward about a year, and we decided we wanted to have a baby.  I became pregnant with our daughter in August of 2008. At the beginning of my pregnancy I weighed about 140 pounds. I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl in May of 2009 and I weighed in at a pretty 200 pounds. If you don’t want to do the math, that’s a whopping 60 pounds that I gained. By some form of luck, I managed to get back down to  140 pounds by the time my daughter was about 5 months old.

Jump ahead to spring of 2011, my daughter was two years old and my husband and I decided that if we wanted another kid, it was now or never. I became pregnant with our son in July of 2011. I was determined to not gain as much weight this time around. At my eight week doctors appointment I weighed in at 151 pounds. My son was born in April of 2011 and once again I was sitting right around 200 pounds, and due to an emergency C-section, my physical activity was limited for the first eight weeks of his life.

I’ve settled into life with two kids and for the first time in my life, I am focused on getting into shape. I LOVE the styles that are in right now, and have set a goal to get back down to the 128 pound girl I was over five years ago. I’ve been coveting a pair of turquoise skinny jeans, and the image of them keeps me motivated at the gym.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

