I think it’s probably pretty obvious that fashion is a major motivator in my quest to get in shape, but in all seriousness, I’m doing this for a much deeper reason. I’ve never had a great body image. I didn’t always hate my body, but I don’t think I’ve ever loved it either. And now that I have children, and especially a daughter, I want to lead by example and instill in them a healthy body image. I want them to know that it is important to be healthy, not skinny. I may be a little extreme, but I don’t use the words ‘fat’ or ‘skinny’. I know that they are words my daughter will hear throughout her life, but I want her to remember that they never came from me. Some of this may be a bit confusing, so let me try to be as clear as I can. I do want to be thin. I want to feel confident and comfortable in my body and the things that I wear. But, I want to do it the right way. I don’t want to starve myself. I don’t want to lose weight by not eating. I want to eat right. I want to eat healthy foods, in healthy amounts. And I want my body to be strong. I want to run and play with my kids and not get tired. I want to tone and see muscle, and I want to be proud of the things my body is capable of. I want my kids to know that their body is a gift, and if they treat it right and take care of themselves, they will be capable of so many things.

I have a ways to go still and I know I’ll have set backs. Making such a big lifestyle change isn’t easy. But for the first time , I am serious and dedicated to making this my way of life. There are days when I don’t want to go to the gym and want to chow down on some pizza and ice cream. But then I think about how far I’ve come, and how far I still have to go, and I know it’s not worth it.

What are some things that keep you motivated?

