In my past attempts to lose weight, staying motivated has been my biggest problem. I have never stuck with it. This time, things are different. Motivation is going to be different for everyone, so you have to find yours, and it has to be something that will really keep you going.

A few of my motivators are;

FASHION! This is obvious by now, right? I’ve bought some clothes recently and I make sure I buy in sizes that are too small. I can’t wait to be able to wear these clothes, and not being able to fit into them, is a HUGE motivator. Also, there is a store in the Flatirons Mall called Bohme. They offer parties, where all the guests receive 15% off their entire purchase. They have a ton of colored jeans that I’ve had my eye on for a while, and I’m thinking about having a Bohme party once I get to my goal.

HEALTH. I want to be healthy, not just skinny. I want to be an example to my children. All of this is explained here.

BEFORE AND AFTER PICTURES. My friend Taryn, of tarynbrooke.com, is an amazingly talented portrait photographer. She’s taking our family pictures this month, and I’ve talked to her about taking some ‘after’ pictures for me once I get to my goal. I took some ‘before’ pictures back when I was at 163 lbs, and lets just say that they were a little unsettling. So having some nice, professional ‘after’ pictures of myself is a great motivator for me. I can’t wait to see the difference in the pictures and to see how far I’ve come.

Also, this blog is a huge motivator. I’m not sure how many people are actually following along, but knowing that I’ve put this out there for people to see, keeps me going. Telling people what your goals are, makes you more likely to reach them. It keeps you accountable.

So tell me, what keeps you motivated?

