So far in my weight loss journey, I’ve realized that there are a few essentials that can make my workouts much more efficient and enjoyable.

Gloves. After a couple weeks of lifting weight, my hands started to get sore and I noticed that I was starting to develop callouses. So my brother went with me to help me pick out some weight lifting gloves. At first I felt like a dork, because I didn’t think I was lifting heavy enough to justify wearing them. But now, I’m so glad I have them.

Tylenol. I’ve found that I always wake up with a headache the day after chest and shoulder day. So I’ve made sure to have some Tylenol around for these days.

Water. My brother always made me take a water break between sets. It’s much easier to bring water with me then to walk to the fountain every time. Water is also essential for cardio days.

Good shoes. I talked about this a little bit here. I do some workouts on the Bosu ball that require balance, and I’ve found it a lot easier to balance with more flexible shoes.

Hair styles. This may sound silly, but I’ve found that my hair can really get in the way of my workouts if it not behaving itself. I have really thick, long hair that goes to about the middle of my back. I’ll usually just wear my hair in a high ponytail, but I’ve found that when I do squats with the bar, my hair will get caught under the bar when it’s in a ponytail. So on leg day I’ll usually wear my hair on some sort of bun. But a bun doesn’t work very well when I lay on the bench. I’ll get into more detail about gym hairstyles in a future post.

And last, but not least,

Music playlist. When I was training with my brother, neither of us listened to music. We would talk about the workouts and how to do them, and just talk to each other about whatever. But the last few times we went I started thinking about what it would be like at the gym after he left. I started noticing the music that the gym was playing and realized that it was what I would be listening to when he was gone and I had no one to talk to. They would play decent music occasionally, but most of the time it seemed to be a combination of 80’s music and easy listening. Not the most motivating stuff to listen to.

Here are a few of my favorite songs for cardio days:
Karmin- Broken hearted
Karmin- I told you so
Brittney Spears- drop dead beautiful
La Roux- bulletproof
Pink- So what
Katy Perry – Firework
Beyonce – Put a ring on it
Beyonce – Run the world (girls)
LMFAO – Sexy and I know it (this song cracks me up)
LMFAO – Party rock

And for lifting days:
Breaking Benjamin
Chevelle
Linkin Park
My Chemical Romance

