If you remember from my first weigh-in post, one of my side goals was to fit into my old jeans. I have a few pairs of ‘skinny’ jeans that I thought it would take me forever to fit into. I had been avoiding trying them on because I didn’t want the disappointment of them being too small.

So I decided to be brave and try on a pair, and guess what? They were about an inch and a half too big in the waist. This was not something I was expecting at all. I seem to have greatly underestimated how much my body would change during this process.

Now, I know some of you are thinking “and this is a problem, why?” well, because I’m not made of money. As much as I’d love to go out and buy an entirely new wardrobe, that’s not super practical. So I did what anyone does when they have a problem, and I turned to the Internet. Specifically, Pintrest. And I found this AMAZING tutorial on how to take in the waistband of your jeans. I taught myself how to sew about a year and a half ago, and have yet to attempt sewing clothing, but this tutorial is very straight forward and seemed manageable. So I put the kids to bed and began taking apart my jeans, and about two hours later, I had a pair of jeans that fit perfectly in the waist! I’m so excited to be able to extend the life of my pants, and maybe even adjust new pairs to fit better if necessary.

The weird part about this experience though, is when I saw that these jeans were to big, a small part of me thought “well, maybe I don’t need to get to my goal weight”. But I had to give myself a reality check. I set certain goals for a reason, and I’m not going to let anything get in my way. When these jeans fit me, I was by no means at a weight I was happy at. It’s all relative compared to what I weighed a few months ago, but I’m going to keep going and make it too my goal. I guess it’s just an opportunity to strengthen my sewing skills 🙂